link to home pagelink to news pagelink to calendar pagelink to results home pagelink to courses pagelink to how to join pagelink to rules pagelink to Surrey League merchandise pagelink to clubs pagelink to links page

evans5dayogo.gif (2504 bytes)

link to Power Pack coaching pages

link to SERRL web site

e-mail us from here

The Surrey Cycle Racing League is affiliated to:

Link to BCF web site

link to RTTC web site


Course guide and information

August 2003 sees the seventh annual Evans Cycles - Surrey League 5 day cycle race taking place in Surrey and East and West Sussex.

Around 80 of Britain's top riders will be taking part in the gruelling 5 day long race - the longest of its type in Britain. Each day they will cover around 100 miles - as well as climbing some of the steepest hills in South East England.

Starting on Friday 15 August, each day sees the participants racing on circuits in different parts of the Region. This year's route revisits some of the favourite spots from previous years such as the South Downs at Goodwood and the Ashdown Forest.

  • Day 1 - Friday 15 August, involves a 99.8 mile long series of courses around Newdigate, between Dorking and Crawley. (for full details click here)

  •  Day 2 - Saturday 16 August, is based around Staplefield between Crawley and Haywards Heath. (for full details click here)

  •  Day 3 - Sunday 17 August, starts with a time trial around Goodwood Motor Racing Circuit. This will be followed by a race of seven gruelling laps on the South Downs and finishes with five laps on the motor racing circuit. (for full details click here)

  •  Day 4 - Monday 18 August, sees racing based at Hertmonceux in East Sussex where the riders follow three looped circuits along pretty country roads, completing just over 100 miles in the day. (for full details click here)

  •  Day 5 - Tuesday 19 August, is based at Crowborough and involves some of the toughest hills to be faced by the riders. It includes three circuits involving the climb of the dreaded 'Wall' - just one of three tough climbs to be encountered on the edge of the Ashdown Forest. (for full details click here)


Click through (above) for comprehensive information on each stage including maps, grid references, start times and estimated viewing times.

The riders will be racing for the coveted Evans Cycles leader's yellow jersey which will be worn by the race leader every day. They will also be competing in 'hot spot' sprints along the route and trying to be first over the hills to take the title 'King of the Mountains'.

Previous winners of the event have gone on to represent England in the Commonwealth and Olympic Games. Last year's 460 mile long race was won by Great Britain national team rider Kristian House with an overall time of 18hours 30minutes and 5seconds - an average speed of almost 25 mph!

Entry fee £60:00
On The Line £100:00

Entries to: Surrey Cycle Racing League
115 Foxley Lane

Links to course detailsday12345.gif (3223 bytes)

Links to Stage results pages

Link to General Classification page Link to Points page Link to King of the Mountains page  

Previous Winners

Kristian House
Kristian House
GB 'A' Team
2002 Winner

Paddy Moriarty
Paddy Moriarty
Gore Bike Wear
2001 Winner

Gethin Butler
Gethin Butler
Gore Bike Wear
2000 Winner

Chris Lillywhite
Chris Lillywhite
Linda McCartney RT
1999 Winner

Gordon McCauley
Gordon McCauley
Harrods RT
1998 Winner

Barrie Clarke
Barrie Clarke
Team Raleigh
1997 Winner

İSurrey Cycle Racing League 1998/2003 All Rights Reserved